Miso is a Japanese seasoning made from fermented soybeans. There are many varieties, each with its own flavor and aroma. Like cheese or wine, it is aged (some up to 3 years) and can be described in different ways like earthy or sweet. In Japanese cuisine, miso paste is used for sauces, pickling and when added to some dashi soup stock makes everyone’s favorite miso soup.
Once open, keep refrigerated and sealed for up to 18 months.
For a vegan alternative, you can use miso instead of butter, milk or cream in your soup.
Puree some miso, tofu and lemon juice to create your own vegan sour cream.
Most of the time, commercial miso is not gluten-free. A basic miso recipe contains mostly rice, cooked soybeans, salt and the fermentation starter called koji, a fungus that gives that crucial umami flavor; but commercial miso is often made with grains and wheat to develop flavor.
The darker the miso, the more intense its flavor. Red miso is great for soup or adding to marinades. Yellow miso is an all-around miso great for soups or glazes. White miso has the lightest flavor and used in salads and dips.
Don’t be afraid to mix and experiment your different miso varieties to get the flavor you want.
Try using miso as a rub for your next roast chicken! Rub some under the skin and refresh that roast recipe.
Miso is fermented and is therefore packed with probiotics that are great for digestion and your intestines.
Miso is high in protein and is also rich in antioxidants iron and magnesium.
Corrections or improvements? Email us firstname.lastname@example.org